Testing an Automated Search

Post comments about Shareaza code and discuss with other developers.
Forum rules
Home | Wiki | Rules

Testing an Automated Search

Postby kvnsmnsn » 27 Oct 2010 21:16

The initial GUI that comes up has a text field in the middle of the display underneath the headline "SEARCH FOR A FILE" and immediately underneath the label "Type some keywords to search for:". To the left of the text field is a button labeled "Search". I've observed that when the user presses the "Search" button, "CHomeSearchCtrl::Search()" gets called. I'm trying to get "CHomeSearchCtrl::Search()" called automatically, when Shareaza begins to run, with a hard-coded search string, so in "CHomeSearchCtrl::OnCreate()" I put a call to "Search( true, true);", and modified "CHomeSearchCtrl::Search()" so that if its second parameter is true, it does a search on the hard-coded string.

I've checked with the debugger, and "CHomeSearchCtrl::Search()" does in fact get called. How can I check to see if me providing the hard-coded search string actually causes a search for files containing the search string on the Internet?

Kevin S
kvnsmnsn
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:13

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby cyko_01 » 28 Oct 2010 03:38

automated searches only hurt the network. Unless you can explain yourself you are on your own.
User avatar
cyko_01
 
Posts: 938
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 15:51

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby kvnsmnsn » 28 Oct 2010 16:30

kvnsmnsn
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:13

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby old_death » 28 Oct 2010 16:50

What goal do you pursue by coding this automated searching?
User avatar
old_death
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:19

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby kvnsmnsn » 28 Oct 2010 18:15

kvnsmnsn
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:13

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby old_death » 28 Oct 2010 19:32

You should know that automated searches are bad for the Gnutella2 network (and most P2P networks in general, BTW), as they increase network traffic significantly without a gain comparable to that cost.
User avatar
old_death
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:19

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby kvnsmnsn » 28 Oct 2010 22:18

kvnsmnsn
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:13

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby kevogod » 29 Oct 2010 00:06

kevogod
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:13

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby ailurophobe » 29 Oct 2010 16:15

I guess people are kind of dubious that you are actually trying to do the right thing to get the result you want. Apart from being expensive for the network keyword queries are notoriously unreliable and mostly return useless (or even harmful) garbage. It is difficult to see any possible benefit to doing them automatically. So from where I am looking at it I'd give about 95% chance your boss is just flat-out wrong about this giving the result he wants.
ailurophobe
 
Posts: 709
Joined: 11 Nov 2009 05:25

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby siavoshkc » 31 Oct 2010 13:29

Why not doing automated garbage searches once per day and detect fake clients and ban them for the rest of the day?
siavoshkc
 
Posts: 347
Joined: 02 Nov 2009 09:37

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby old_death » 31 Oct 2010 17:14

Because that would increase the network load by more than half a million searches per day.

Assuming the average user makes less than one search per day; let's say the average was 0,5 searches per day. Now when everyone of those does an automatic search per day, the total load caused by searches would triple.

[EDIT: Rewording...]
User avatar
old_death
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:19

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby kevogod » 31 Oct 2010 20:56

kevogod
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:13

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby old_death » 01 Nov 2010 01:43

User avatar
old_death
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:19

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby siavoshkc » 01 Nov 2010 09:50

One search per two or three day won't hurt anyone. I search 3 to 5 times per day.
siavoshkc
 
Posts: 347
Joined: 02 Nov 2009 09:37

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby ailurophobe » 01 Nov 2010 15:48

This has been discussed before. It is better for one person to do a garbage search and share the results than automate doing such searches. In fact, large address and hash block lists already exist, the security manager just doesn't have the performance to make using them practical.
ailurophobe
 
Posts: 709
Joined: 11 Nov 2009 05:25

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby siavoshkc » 02 Nov 2010 06:50

siavoshkc
 
Posts: 347
Joined: 02 Nov 2009 09:37

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby ailurophobe » 03 Nov 2010 01:28

ailurophobe
 
Posts: 709
Joined: 11 Nov 2009 05:25

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby old_death » 03 Nov 2010 09:10

User avatar
old_death
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:19

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby ailurophobe » 03 Nov 2010 17:30

I have actually been thinking about changing the security manager user interface to be more about managing security lists and less about managing security rules. So you would have a list of available security lists and if you check the check box next to the list Shareaza would upload it from the network and use it, if you do not it would not. But this would be a pretty big change from the current approach with easy access to individual rules and their hit counters, so I am not sure if people would want something like that or what would be the best way to do it if they do.
ailurophobe
 
Posts: 709
Joined: 11 Nov 2009 05:25

Re: Testing an Automated Search

Postby old_death » 03 Nov 2010 17:40

User avatar
old_death
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 13 Jun 2009 16:19


Return to Development Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron