Page 1 of 1

Newer libs

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 20:07
by siavoshkc
Is it possible for me to use Win 7 SDK and Boost 1_40?
How developers agree on which lib version to work with? For example I may use something in Boost 1_40 that is not present in 1_39 then others can't compile.

[EDIT]
What about DX SDK why using 2007 and not 2009?

Re: Newer libs

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 20:50
by mojo85
I compile against Boost 1_40, it works as it should nothing fancy or depracated. I think other than new entries, new versions don't really change the functionality of old capabilities.

Win7 SDK Problems

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 23:00
by skinvista
Windows 7 SDK MIDL compiler cannot build the Shareaza plugins, but works otherwise.
To use it, you will have to tell Visual Studio where the Windows Vista/2008 SDK compiler binaries are before building any plugins.

Go to: Tools > Options > Projects and Solutions > VC++ Directories
At the top of the Executables list, insert: C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\Bin

Windows 7 SDK is also missing one include file (qedit.h), so you will have to install the latest DirectX SDK to get it -or just copy it from the old Windows Vista/2008 SDK. (DirectX SDK is no longer needed otherwise.)

...
All plugins will need to be fixed. The Win7 MIDL tool silently fails with useless code MIDL9008 "internal error" where the WinVista/2008 tool gives this message:
>midl : warning MIDL2471 : Some attributes and/or data types in the idl and/or included/imported idl files can not be represented in the type library: size_is/max_is

Trac Bug Ticket #55 has been added for this.

Re: Newer libs

PostPosted: 18 Dec 2009 21:11
by rolandas
Using a lisenced version of Visual Studio 2008 with all updates + unofficial debugger hotfixes and Win 7 SDK, with DirectX SDK (March 2009). Everything compiles fine, except that the compiler version is not recognized and get a warning about missing qedit.h (it's not needed actually). Had no time to look at this compiler version though...
The only caveat for the Win 7 SDK is that you have to install and configure its integration into VS using English Regional Settings, because of the bug MS had introduced into it. Then you can change the settings back.